Super Easy Recipe and First WIAW Post

Egg Bake

I love this recipe for a few reasons.

1) It is very versatile. You can basically change it up however you want.

2) It is incredibly easy and quick.

3) It is delicious. Enough said.

Ingredients:
About 1 cup egg beaters or liquid egg whites. Note: you can most definitely use whole eggs, it is just way easier and quicker to use the ones in a carton!
Spinach
Diced tomato
Zucchini
Onion
Garlic
Mrs. Dash garlic seasoning + pepper
**These are the ingredients I used when I made the recipe this time around. In the past I have used or added different veggies along with turkey. You can honestly add whatever you want. Chicken would probably be excellent in this.

Method:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray pan with cooking spray. You can use a square or round pan. I used a pie dish so it turned out kind of like a quiche (I hate that word). Pour eggs into pan and add veggies and seasonings. Mix it around a little bit with a spoon. Bake for about 30-35 minutes or until the center is firm and the edges start to brown. Let cool before cutting. Serves 4-8. I cut mine into 4 big slicespicstitch (7)WIAW #1

WIAW stands for What I ate Wednesday and was created by blogger Jenn over at Peas And Crayons

I have been following her blog for a few years now and when I was in school and living at Kent I remember looking forward to Wednesdays because I would head over to her blog for WIAW. It was my break from studying.

So what exactlly does WIAW entail? Basically it is meant to be a food diary or a way to reflect on a full day of eating. It started as Jenn’s personal food diary and she turned it into a weekly social event on her blog. All you need to do is photograph a full day of eats, write a blog post, and add your link to her WIAW party post every Wednesday. I have been wanting to join in but I haven’t had a blog until now. I just enjoyed browsing through everyone’s posts and fetching new recipes and tips. WIAW has grown enormously on Jenn’s blog over the past couple of years. I remember when  I first started following these posts-I think 30 people would link up their blogs to the post. Now, over 100 people link up every week. In Jenn’s words, “Looking back at a full day of eats has benefited my personal healthy eating goals so much that I wanted to share the love by making it into a blog link party for everyone to join in on!”

I went back and forth with the idea of doing my own WIAW posts. I thought that it might be triggering for me and bring back memories of when I had to fill out diary cards every single day in treatment. For those who do not already know, I might as well spill the beans-I have been dealing with an eating disorder for the majority of my teen years and into early adulthood. I won’t go into details, as I plan on doing a separate post in the future. I will mention the fact that I had a short stint in eating disorder treatment. It was in a day treatment program, followed by an intensive outpatient program, and then weekly Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT). For about 3 years I had regularly scheduled therapy, nutritional counseling, and weekly doctor visits. I was only in day treatment for about 4 months before I was booted due to insurance and had to transition to the intensive outpatient program. I went for a couple of months before being booted again, just as I was about to go back to Kent after taking a semester off.

During the entire span of treatment and therapy I had to fill out diary cards every day. They were documents of everything I had consumed that day. I had to fill out exactly what I ate and how much, along with my emotion(s) during mealtimes. There was a block for each meal and snack and a scale from 0-10 ranking my fullness at the end of the meal. I did this every day for over about a year and a half, even after I left formal treatment (Doc’s orders).

After a while this “homework”, though it was supposed to benefit me, became sort of a trigger. I still have those diary cards stashed away, as I plan on using parts of them in the book I hope to write one day. These days, writing out and planning meals is no longer triggering to me. I plan my meals ahead of time because it helps me to stay organized and on track, especially when I work 2-3 shifts in a row. Unless I am really sick, I will not skip a meal. Even at work, when I am drowning in my assignment, I find time to sit down and eat. I have to because I know that once I start to slip, the tumble is fast. I refuse to let myself take that fall again.

I would love to be able to just flexibly and intuitively eat. When I was very young and first started thinking about weight and dieting, I remember my mom telling me (and she still tells me this today) “It’s simple Maria-you eat when you’re hungry and you stop when you’re full. Nothing to it”. Easier said than done. My ultimate goal is to get to that point, and believe me I will. Right now though, planning out meals and the occasional documentation is what I need to do. I still have some improvements to make when it comes to my recovery and I would be lying if I said I have been trying my best the last couple of years. My body still needs more nourishment, more rest, more recovery. I know what I need to do.

Aside from all that, I had fun writing this post more than anything. I know that in the past I have joked around about people taking a picture of their food and posting it on social media, but I have found that it is actually enjoyable and the best part about it is that I get to share with all of you something that I think is delicious and that I would highly recommend you all try as well.

Okay, enough ramblings. Here is my first WIAW post. I encourage you to head on over to Jenn’s blog to see what this party is all about.

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS

These meals are actually from Monday. A lot of people choose days other than Wednesday to write about. Wednesday is just the day everyone adds their link.

First up, breakfast. No work today. On my days off I typically have a breakfast that is fun and a little more time consuming to make. It isn’t a meal that I would eat in the car on my way to work. Once a week I try to have one of these “special” breakfasts. This particular morning I had french toast. I made it with wheat bread dipped in an egg white, cinnamon & coconut milk batter. I topped it with strawberries, g butter cashew butter, and my protein frosting (protein powder + greek yogurt). This recipe never fails me. Also-black coffee. Always. On average I have about 3 cups a day.

picstitch (10)

Syrup pour fail. …syrup pour failpicstitch (9)

Lunch: Grilled veggie wrap with spinach, broccoli, onion, and zucchini + (large) plate of cut vegetables & hummus. Yes I consumed all those veggies. It is something I do daily and I love it.

picstitch (14)picstitch (15)

Afternoon snack: Chocolate strawberry smoothie. Menchie’s spoons are the norm these days.

picstitch (16)

Dinner (not pictured): I went out to dinner with a friend and didn’t want to bust out my phone to take pictures. We went to a local bar/grill and it was $5 burger night + $2 craft beer pints. We started off with the best appetizer on earth (in my opinion)-the fried brussels sprouts which are lightly flash fried with olive oil and drizzled with balsamic vinegar. Even if you hate brussels sprouts I swear you would love these. I ended up ordering a standard burger but chose the veggie patty over meat this time. I love their veggie burgers. They are made in house and are full of flavor. On the side I had a mixed greens salad with balsamic dressing to dip it in. I also,(naturally) had to have a few craft beers because um, $2.00?? Can’t pass that deal up. I went with a Southern Tier 2x IPA and a Great Divide Yeti Imperial Stout. Everything tasted great and it is always nice catching up with friends I don’t get to see often 🙂

Normally I would have an evening snack as well but by the time I got home it was pretty late and I was full so I didn’t see any reason to force it.

Oh, and I almost forgot-HYDRATION. I don’t drink enough of the good stuff, especially when I am at work. It is difficult to consume enough water but it is necessary, therefore I need to try harder.

picstitch (11)

So that about wraps it up. I realize this was probably too long so next time I’ll try and shorten it up. Once I get writing though it is hard for me to stop. Hope you all enjoyed my full day of eats! If not, I don’t know what to tell ya.

All is well, all will be well.

5 thoughts on “Super Easy Recipe and First WIAW Post

Leave a Reply

