WIAW #2 (Work Edition) & A Recipe

My work schedule has been kind of hectic this past week. 2 twelves-1 off-2 twelves-1 off-2 twelves. It isn’t ideal but it works, and what’s great is that after today I have 4 days off, so I can’t complain. What is hard is that my days off in between aren’t just rest and relax days. These are days that I use to catch up-to work out, run errands, meal prep, enjoy life, etc…I still wake up fairly early because I don’t like to waste these precious days off. Meal prep is something I like to do early to get out of the way because it can get kind of annoying and it takes at least an hour. If I am working two shifts in a row I always prep for both days at once. There are some foods that I consume quite often so I will make bigger batches and freeze them. Examples-chicken breast, sweet potatoes, egg white breakfast sandwiches on lawash wraps, light english muffins, or bread. This saves a lot of time. So for this week’s WIAW Wednesday I’ll show you guys what I prepped on Monday for Tuesday and Wednesday.

Head to Jenn’s blog for more 😉

http://www.peasandcrayons.com

Breakfasts: easy meals that I can eat in the car on my way to work. (Although I do attempt it sometimes, oatmeal isn’t the easiest meal to consume while driving).

T-Lawash wrap with better n’ pb, which is just an alternative to real peanut butter. I eat real peanut butter, I just love a lot of different spreads. I also had an apple.

picstitch (4)
Always a Gala.

W-Egg white and FF provolone cheese on cinnamon raisin bread (taken from freezer-I microwave it in the morning and it’s perfect). I can’t remember the last time I had this kind of bread but it sounded good and is a nice little exposure. Oikos plain greek yogurt & berries.

picstitch (9)

Lunches:  Sometimes I try to make work lunches more like snacks so I can eat them throughout the day, especially because there are days that I don’t have time to sit down for a full lunch. On these days I’ll eat sporadically and on the fly when I have a few spare minutes.

T-Bag full of goodies (veggies) with hummus, 2 hardboiled egg whites, tuna packet, plain rice cake, kiwi. I never got around to eating that kiwi. It was quite a day at work. Darn shame, it looked good too.

picstitch (5)

W-Turkey salad with balsamic & red wine vinegar, lemon wedges and a (unpictured) pear.

picstitch (6)

Dinners: this is where I could do better. When I am not working I eat dinner at home with my parents so the meal is bigger and higher in calories and other nutrients. I rely on dinner to be my denser/heavier meal but when I am at work it always ends of being a lighter meal. This is my own doing. It’s kind of habit and goes back to my days of living on my own in college. I am also weird in the sense that I don’t like to eat dinner when I get home from work because by the time I get home by 8 pm I am in no mood to eat a heavy meal. I just always have a night snack. I eat my dinner either towards the end of my shift or on my way out of the hospital. Tupperware containers have been lifesavers.

T-“Zoodles” made with my Spirooli, with homemade tomato sauce that a patient actually told me about. This turned out great. I’ll try and post a recipe soon. But it is simply roma tomatoes, sautéed with shallots and chopped garlic, chicken broth and basil. I added diced chicken for protein as well as broccoli. (It was a lot of fun eating this one on my way out of work and in the car. People stared. Oh well).

picstitch (8)

W-Turkey burger that I made on the stove-literally just ground turkey with Mrs. Dash table blend. Plus a diced potato (no sweet potato this time), steamed zucchini and carrots. Hi I am addicted to potatoes.

picstitch (7)
Ketchup will be slathered all over.

Drinks: Coffee, Water with strawberries, cucumber & lemons, and if the craving hits…coke zero. Ooops.

picstitch (2)picstitch (10)

Snacks at night-Tuesday was a quest bar and sugar-free chocolate pudding. Tonight (Wednesday), I’ll see what I feel like having later.

Hey there beautiful.
Hey there beautiful.

These are all pretty typical work meals for me. I probably need to work on increasing my nutrients on work days. I’m not losing out on a huge amount but it is still significant because I am on my feet all day. I do make up for it on my days off though because I always eat a good dinner and I have an extra snack mid-day (usually a piece of fruit or smoothie).

There ya have it, nothing special.

What is special, however, is this recipe. This was breakfast on Monday. Pro-Zoats. If you haven’t heard of this, it’s simple. Oatmeal with shredded zucchini, egg whites, and protein powder. Pro-zoats. It sounds nasty right? Wrong. This is damn good and full of nutrients. I never get tired of veggies so why not add them to breakfast as well?

This is also very easy to make. I adapted this recipe from a lot of different blogs and Instagram profiles. Many recipes for this are floating around. The one I will share is from @Anna_Lifts. Follow her on IG for more awesome and healthy recipes. Here is the basic recipe but with my variations

Ingredients:

¼ cup old fashioned oats.

2/3 cup water

Grated Zucchini (unmeasured). I would say maybe ½ cup.

3 TBSP liquid egg whites

¼ scoop Cellucor peanut butter marshmallow whey

5 drops liquid stevia, French vanilla flavored

Toppings: PB2 powdered peanut butter (just another alternative), sliced strawberries

Directions:

Cook oats and zucchini in water until boiling and water is mostly absorbed. Lower the heat and add in egg whites and stevia. Mix rapidly until fluffy and creamy. I promise the eggs won’t just scramble. You won’t even know the eggs are there. PROMISE.  Add in your protein powder and mix like a mad man or woman. Transfer to pretty bowl and top with desired toppings. Smile because you just made a prize winning bowl of oats and then devour. Now you’ve started your day with a steaming bowl of carbs, protein, AND vegetables. The perfect combo.

picstitch

<3<3<3
<3<3<3
One thought on “WIAW #2 (Work Edition) & A Recipe

Leave a Reply

